Fearless Entrepreneurship

One of my guiding mantras is to “live a life that is not governed by fear.”

We all have a myriad of dreams and life is too short to let our fears get in the way. This approach has been central in my entrepreneurial pursuit.

Starting a company for the first time is scary business (no pun intended!). There are so many unknown unknowns.  

Image

When working on Betchyu, I’m in over my head. I have so many questions and so few answers. Starting a company can be paralyzing. We simply do not have the tools to make informed decisions. Naturally, we revert to a state of indecision. We move back and forth between the costs and benefits of an action without understanding that inaction is the most destructive path to take. Entrepreneurs need to learn to feel at home with uncertainty. We need to transition away from being afraid of the unknowns and learn to embrace them.

If you are going to make a mistake, you might as well be quick about it.

I have adopted a new approach in my work. Unknowns are not obstacles but learning opportunities. In fact, the entire entrepreneurial experience is about learning. Instead of being paralyzed by the uncertainty of it all, I try to make informed decisions in short increments of time. I recognize that I have already made mistakes. I will continue to make mistakes in the future. I will not be defined by my fear of making mistakes, but my ability to learn, adapt, and grow from them.

Louisa May Alcott puts it beautifully when she writes, “I’m not afraid of storms, for I’m learning how to sail my ship.”

The very act of becoming an entrepreneur is a step into the unknown. I don’t know where this path leads to. What I do know, is that I am learning, adapting, and growing with each step that I take. 

Leave a Reply

